2022-2026 Digital CEDS

North Central Planning & Development District
Learn More

Economic Development

The Counties of North Central Mississippi


“Providing Service from the Delta to the Hills”

North Central Planning and Development District is a 4,194 square-mile region ranging from flat, fertile Detla land to steep rolling hills and hardwood forests. The district includes seven counties: Attala, Carroll, Grenada, Holmes, Leflore, Montgomery, and Yalobusha. This area is home to over 125,000 people.

District Overview

North Central Planning and Development District (NCPDD) is one of ten planning districts in the State of Mississippi created in the late 1960s to assist local governments in identifying grant programs and obtaining funding for all kinds of Community and economic development projects.

The NCPDD region consists of 7 counties and 26 municipalities that cover 4,194 square miles (2,684,160 acres), with a total population of over 125,000 people, according to the 2014 American Community Survey (ACS).

The most populated county is Leflore with 31,772 residents, followed by Grenada with 21,660 residents. Carroll County is by far the least populated county with 10,418 residents (see figure below).

As a percentage of the overall population of the state, the District has declined from 5.6% in 1980 to 4.1% in 2014. Leflore County has borne the brunt of the loss in the region with a loss of 9,208 residents since 1980. Holmes County has also lost a significant number of residents since 1980 (3,772 residents).

Click on the Summary Background tab for regional and county snapshots that highlight the demographic and economic statistics of the seven-county area, including the area economy, workforce, infrastructure, environment, and culture.

NCPDD Mission

To aid business and the local community in the areas of planning, economic and community development, job training, social services, transportation, data processing, and gerontology.